Lessons in Adulting

I’ve recently had a few amazing mentors enter my life and these women have taught me some very valuable lessons. I feel that these lessons have helped me to better myself in every aspect and I am beyond blessed to have these women in my life.


I’ve learned not just how to have self-confidence, but how to apply that confidence in every aspect of my life. Recently, I feel like I have been completely slaying certain parts of my life. Work, I’m totally slaying it. I’ve taken my killer work ethic and attributed it towards open new opportunities. Not only have I noticed the change in myself, but my management team at work has as well. They have been full of compliments and positive reinforcement. And we have also spoken about pay increases and allowing me to take on more responsibilities as well.

Give people second chances. Over time, we grow and learn new things about ourselves and so do others. It is completely unfair for us to assume that Becky is still the same person she was in high school. I myself, am far from the person I was those eight years ago. You may be surprised what you can learn if you open yourself up and allow it.

Ask for what you want, not what you think you deserve. Basically in short, know your worth and always ask for more. You’ll be surprised what people will be willing to accommodate if you just ask. Literally, the worst that can happen is they can say no.

Not everyone will be happy about your achievements. Don’t take it personal. Most of these people are suffering from something in their personal lives that making them severally unhappy. These people exist and they will try to steal your sunshine and drag you into their hurricane. The best advice I have for this is to distance yourself from these people. Do not make it your personal mission to rescue them because when some people are drowning the best they can do is take someone else down with them.

Never stop exploring and continue to search for new adventures. It’s amazing how many things you can learn about yourself. We as human beings are so dynamic. We are all different and what works for some doesn’t work for others. Find what works for you.

Lastly, we are all looking for acceptance. Acceptance but without compromising the integrity of who we are. Sometimes we lose sight of this. Just remember that we as people are all just trying to coexist peacefully.

If you have some amazing mentors in your life, know how lucky you are. Use their teachings and pass them on to others.

Leave a Reply

